Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections: Genealogy research

The homepage for the Archives and Special Collections department of Musselman Library.

Notice to non-University users

Important message for our non-university researchers and visitors:

To honor COVID-19 precautions as outlined in the Bluffton University Protect The Dam guidelinesno campus visitors or guests are permitted in Musselman Library except for recruiting visits that are managed through the admissions office.  We regret this inconvenience to Bluffton alumni, area residents, and guests to campus, who may wish to use library resources in person. 

Questions about this policy may be directed to Carrie Phillips, interim library director (419-358-3275, phillipsc@bluffton.edu).  

Overview

The Mennonite Historical Collections include a number of resources to assist family history researchers with genealogy efforts. Genealogy materials are available for use by appointment.  See additional details below.

Books

Books

The Mennonite Historical Collections include over 3,000 volumes of family histories and supporting texts. All are available by searching the library's catalog. One strategy is to search a surname using both keyword and subject searches. A member of the library staff can assist you in these searches. If you are planning a visit to the library for research, it may be helpful for you to search the catalog prior to your visit. The staff would be happy to pull and set aside for you any books which you find via a catalog search and would like to see in person.

Periodicals and Local Newspapers

Periodicals

Musselman Library subscribes to several genealogy research publications, including several for Mennonite family history research.

Click here to see genealogy research periodicals and serial publications in the library catalog (opens in a new window).


Local newspapers

The collection also includes the following:

Bluffton Standard: June 26, 1873 (stored with Bluffton News loose issues in flat file, see below)


Bluffton News

Dates:     Format: Note:
1879-1919 (sporadic)

Loose paper issues for these dates only:

7/31/1879, 7/29/1880, 4/21/1881, 11/5/1885, 7/19/1888, 8/30/1888, 9/13/1888, 10/11/1888, 11/22/1888,4/28/1892, 5/26/1892, 3/16/1893, 9/28/1893, 10/5/1893, 9/5/1895, 6/28/1900, 12/4/1919

Stored in folders in the Archives and Special Collections floor flat files. Please ask at the Circulation/Info desk for assistance.
May 28, 1896 - May 4, 1933 Microfilm Please ask at the Circulation/Info desk for for access to microfilm collections.
1939-1955

Online at Chronicling America

https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn87076554/

Visit the Chronicling America website to access
1922-present Paper Current year stored on library's main floor with other newspapers.  Older issues in boxes on the Archives and Special Collections floor (please ask at the Circulation/Info desk for assistance).
     

Pandora Times: January 10, 1902 - November 17, 1988 (microfilm)


Please ask for assistance with any microfilm at the Circulation/Info Desk. The Bluffton News paper backfiles are kept on the Archives and Special Collections floor; please make arrangements with Carrie (see contact information at the top of the page) to use this material, or ask for assistance at the Circulation/Info Desk.

Other Resources

Census microfilm

The library's collections include selected census microfilm from 1790-1930. Some of this microfilm content may also be available online from the US Census Bureau. Please ask for assistance at the Circulation/Info Desk if you are wish to use our census collections on microfilm.

Other institutions and organizations

These other institutions and organizations may be helpful for continuing your family history research. Their mention here does not imply endorsement by Musselman Library or Bluffton University. These institutions may have their own research policies, and you should contact each institution for more information on those policies.

Allen County Public Library: Genealogy Center (Fort Wayne, IN)

Center for Archival Collections, Bowling Green State University (Bowling Green, OH)

Ohio Genealogical Society Library (Mansfield, OH)

Librarian Info

Carrie Phillips's picture
Carrie Phillips
Contact:
Musselman Library
419-358-3275

Websites