Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Home

The homepage for the Archives and Special Collections department of Musselman Library.

Notice to non-University users

Important message for our non-university researchers and visitors:

To honor COVID-19 precautions as outlined in the Bluffton University Protect The Dam guidelinesno campus visitors or guests are permitted in Musselman Library during the fall semester, except for recruiting visits that are managed through the admissions office.  We regret this inconvenience to Bluffton alumni, area residents, and guests to campus, who may wish to use library resources in person. 

Questions about this policy may be directed to Carrie Phillips, interim library director (419-358-3275, phillipsc@bluffton.edu).  

Introduction

Musselman Library is home to rich historical collections important to the Bluffton experience and supporting intellectual discovery of our students, faculty, and staff – and of scholars from around the world. These collections are the treasures of our institution… tracing our heritage back to beginnings of Anabaptism and telling amazing stories along the way.

The Archives & Special Collections floor is located on the first floor of the 1965 addition to Musselman Library and houses all archival and special collections owned by Musselman Library, including:

  • our Mennonite Historical Collections
  • the Bluffton University Archives
  • the Archives of the Central District Conference of Mennonite Church USA
  • the Edna Hanley Byers Robert Frost Collection
  • other manuscript collections of past faculty, staff, and other individuals with a connection to Bluffton University and/or the surrounding area
  • the Howard Raid Mutual Aid Archives
  • Books and other library materials of rare and special importance to the institution and to scholarship

For questions or to make an appointment, please contact:

Carrie Phillips
Archives and Special Collections Librarian
Musselman Library
1 University Drive
Bluffton, OH 45817
Phone: 419-358-3450
Email: phillipsc@bluffton.edu

Librarian Info

Carrie Phillips's picture
Carrie Phillips
Contact:
Musselman Library
419-358-3275