Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Mennonite Historical Collections

The homepage for the Archives and Special Collections department of Musselman Library.

Overview

The Mennonite Historical Collections are part of the newly-established Archives and Special Collections floor - the first floor of the 1965 addition to Musselman Library. Founded in 1935 by the late Dr. C. Henry Smith as the Mennonite Historical Library, our Mennonite Historical Collections reflect the Mennonite affiliation of Bluffton University and the Swiss tradition of many constituents.

Our Mennonite Historical Collections include a number of editions of key Anabaptist-Mennonite texts, periodicals with research and news for and about Mennonite and related groups, resources for genealogy research, secondary sources on Mennonite history and life, and historic materials from the village of Bluffton and of surrounding communities. Materials in the main library collection on the topics of peace and general Anabaptist and Mennonite history support research in these areas.

MHC materials are available for use by appointment.

Local History Reading List

Compiled with recommendations from Bluffton faculty

Amstutz, P.B. Translated by Anne Konrad Dyck in 1978
Historical Events of the Mennonite Settlement in Allen and Putman Counties, Ohio
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Boldt, Enninger, and Gratz
Mennonites in Transition from Switzerland to America
Includes many source documents connected to the local Swiss Mennonite settlement
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Bush, Perry
Dancing With the Kobzar: Bluffton College and Mennonite Higher Education
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Grace Mennonite Church Pandora Ohio: 1904-1979, 75th Anniversary
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Gratz, Delbert
Bernese Anabaptists and their American Descendants
While this book focuses on the European background of the Swiss Mennonites, it does include material on the local Swiss Mennonites, and more importantly, places them within the broader context of Swiss Mennonite migrations
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Gratz, Delbert, et al.
The Swiss Settlement of Bluffton-Pandora, Ohio
Published in Mennonite Life (December 1988), pages 4-19.

Kreider, Robert
My Early Years: An Autobiography
See especially pages 137-193 where he discusses growing up in Bluffton.
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Lehman, James O.
A Century of Grace: in the community and around the world
(centennial history of Grace Mennonite Church, Pandora) View the record for this item in our online catalog

Pannabecker, Samuel Floyd
Faith in Ferment: a history of the Central District Conference
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Raid, Howard
The First Seventy-Five Years: 1906-1981
(a history of First Mennonite Church, Bluffton, Ohio)
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Rich, Elaine Sommers; editor
Walking Together in Faith: the Central District Conference 1957-1990
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Schneck, Don; editor
150 Years Along the Riley: the history and events of Riley Township and and[sic] Pandora, Ohio 1832-1982
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Steiner, Fred; editor
Town at the Fork of the Rileys revisited: historical sketches of Old Shannon and Bluffton, Ohio
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Town at the Fork of the Rileys: historical sketches of Old Shannon and Bluffton, Ohio
(published by Bluffton Centennial, Inc., as a souvenir of the Centennial of BlufftonÂ’s incorporation as a Village, 1861-1961)
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Weaver, J. Denny
Keeping Salvation Ethical: Mennonite and Amish Atonement Theology in the Late Nineteenth Century
See especially pp. 91-111 for biographical material on Bishop Johannes Moser. Weaver discusses Moser's writings throughout the book
View the record for this item in our online catalog

Librarian Info

Carrie Phillips
Contact:
Musselman Library
419-358-3275
Website / Blog Page