Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ohioans comprised a significant proportion of the forces on the Union side of the American Civil War. Use this guide to help identify and learn more about the hundreds of regiments for which these men served.
The tabs across the top of the guide contain more specific help. Please ask us if you need further assistance.
Links for learning more
Civil War Infantry Units - Ohio History Central
Overview and lists of infantry units. From Ohio History Connection.
List of Ohio Civil War units
From wikipedia: a list of the Civil War infantry, calvalry, and artillery units from Ohio. each pointing to an article about that particular unit. Use these entries to learn basic location and participation information for a given unit. Follow cited sources for more information.
Northwest Ohio in the Civil War - BGSU Center for Archival Collections
Bowling Green State University's Center for Archival Collections maintains an extensive collection of primary documents and biographical content related to the service of Northwest Ohioans in the Civil War.
Ohio's American Civil War Generals
Wikipedia's list of Generals from Ohio who served in the American Civil War. Each list entry points to an article about that particular general. Use these entries to learn basic information for a particular general. Follow cited sources for more information.
Ohio in the American Civil War - Wikipedia
Wikipedia's article detailing Ohio's role in the Civil War. Use this page to acquire a basic understanding. Follow cited references to additional information.
Ohio in the Civil War
"This site contains extensive bibliographical material about Ohio's Infantry, Cavalry, Artillery and Miscellaneous regiments. Also included are links to various libraries and archives for Ohio Civil War researchers." Maintained by Larry Stevens. Has companion facebook page.
Civil War Internet Resources - BGSU Center for Archival Collections
A list of internet resources for Civil War research, curated by staff at Bowling Green State University's Center for Archival Collections.