This is the "Home" page of the "What is WINDOW?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

What is WINDOW?  

A guide for WINDOW, Musselman Library's discovery tool.
Last Updated: Aug 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bluffton.edu/whatiswindow Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is WINDOW?

Introduced for fall semester 2013, WINDOW is a powerful tool that lets you search the Bluffton Library catalog and many research databases with a single search box.  It's built on the same platform as several of our databases, so it will look familiar to users of Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, and other EBSCO databases.

Explore the tabs above on this guide to learn more about WINDOW, or try it out using the box below.  Use the Go To Window tab to visit WINDOW's own advanced search page.

 

Search Window

Search WINDOW
 

When should I use WINDOW?

WINDOW helps you quickly find relevant resources on a research topic without having to decide which database(s) to search.

You can limit your search results in a variety of ways, including publication date, scholarly designation. The Bluffton University Library Catalog is integrated into the search results.

 

When should I NOT use WINDOW?

Some of our research databases have powerful search features which are only available in their unique interfaces.  To take advantage of those richer features, you may choose to search that particular database individually.  All of our research databases are still available from the Research Databases link on our homepage

Results (books, etc.) from the OhioLINK Library Catalog are not included in a WINDOW search, but you can search the OhioLINK Library Catalog separately, either using the search widget inside WINDOW that appears in the righthand column of any results page, or by going directly to the OhioLINK Library Catalog outside of WINDOW. 

Links to these individual resources are provided on the library's homepage and from the More Research Tools page on our site.

Librarian Info

Profile Image
Carrie Phillips
Logo - AIMLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Musselman Library
419-358-3275
Send Email

Research Librarian

Profile Image
Paul L. Weaver
Contact Info
Musselman Library / Bluffton University
(419) 358-3448
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip