Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Christian Values in a Global Community: Reference Sources

A resource guide for Dr. Lamar Nisly's CVGC class, with a focus on the class research topic of human trafficking.

Selected Reference Sources

Articles in reference sources can provide excellent overviews. They are citable, often written by scholars, and frequently list additional sources that might be helpful.

See below for examples of reference articles that might be useful. Most link directly to the article. One refers to a hard copy encyclopedia we have in our collection:

Tolley, Howard B. "Human Trafficking." Encyclopedia of Human Rights. : Oxford University Press, 2009. Oxford Reference. 2009. Web.

Steverson, Leonard A. "Human Trafficking." Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime & Justice. Ed. Margaret E. Beare. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012. 180-83. SAGE knowledge. Web.

Miguel, Claudia San. "Human Trafficking." 21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook. Ed. J. Mitchell Miller. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2009. 599-612. SAGE knowledge. Web.

Janssen, Marie-Louise. "Sex Trafficking." Encyclopedia of Global Studies. Ed. Helmut K. Anheier, and Mark Juergensmeyer. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012. 1519-23. SAGE knowledge. Web.

Davidson, Julia O'Connell. "Illegal Trade, Children." Encyclopedia of Global Studies. Ed. Helmut K. Anheier, and Mark Juergensmeyer. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012. 868-71. SAGE knowledge. Web.

Guillen, April J. "Female Slavery/Child Slavery." Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence. Ed. Claire M. Renzetti, and Jeffrey L. Edleson. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2008. 264-66. SAGE knowledge. Web.

Wooditch, Alese C. "Human Trafficking." Encyclopedia of Race and Crime. Ed. Helen Taylor Greene, and Shaun L. Gabbidon. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2009. 360-63. SAGE knowledge. Web.

"Trafficking (Human)." Condé, H. Victor. An encyclopedia of human rights in the United States. 2nd ed. Amenia: Grey House, c2011. Print. (Musselman Library Reading Room Ref KF 4747.5 .C37 2011 v.1

Perry, Robin E. "Human Trafficking." Encyclopedia of Trauma: An Interdisciplinary Guide. Ed. Charles R. Figley. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012. 310-13. SAGE knowledge. Web.

Smith, Cindy J. "Human Trafficking." Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention. Ed. Bonnie S. Fisher, and Steven P. Lab. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2010. 465-68. SAGE knowledge. Web.