Article length is longer and content is in-depth.
Written by expert/s in the field, and name(s) and credentials provided.
Language includes concepts and/or jargon of the field for scholarly readers.
Structured arrangement, often with abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion.
Illustrations support the text, as with statistical tables, graphs.
Content is peer-reviewed, refereed by a group of experts.
Bibliography/works cited/footnotes document the research.
Unsure about what you're reading here? Visit our Need Help - Ask Us page and connect with one of our librarians who can help you understand.
A research database is a searchable collection of many types of sources. A database might include journal, magazine, or newspaper articles, book chapters, book reviews, reports, and other types of published information. These collections might be topic-specific and narrowly-focused, or they may be very broad and comprehensive in the subject matter they include.
Use your list of keywords as search words in these databases.
This link opens in a new windowCovers key areas of education and related fields of study.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThe most widely used database for education research and practice offering access to articles, research reports, teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations/theses, and books.
This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowOffers "how-to" articles written by practicing teachers.
This link opens in a new windowCovers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the literature of psychology and an array of related disciplines such as education, business, medicine, nursing, law, and social work.
This link opens in a new windowSSCI covers nursing, allied health fields, education, psychology, and other social science; offers citation connections between scholarly research articles. From Web of Science.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.