Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Web
Searching Online - Purdue OWL
Provides information on the different ways of locating material online, including using search engines, searching the invisible web, and using Web directories. From Purdue University Online Writing Lab.
Refining Google searches
Google's own cheat sheet for tactics to refine your searches.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including peer reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar can be a companion research tool to library databases.
Subject Guides and Directories
Internet Scout Archives
Searchable and browseable database for the weekly Scout Report and subject-specific Scout Reports, with critical annotations of carefully selected Internet sites and mailing lists.
Voice of the Shuttle
Provides access to scholarly websites for research in the humanities. The site offers browsing by subject area categories or search by topic.
Ethical and Philosophical Issues
Copyright and Fair Use
Offers information in several categories, including overview of copyright and fair use, current issues and legislation, and primary source materials. From Stanford University Libraries.
Copyright Crash Course
Includes both tutorial and syllabus with detailed information on ownership, fair use, getting permission, the TEACH Act, and more. From University of Texas Libraries.
Internet Library of Law and Court Decisions
Offers summaries of hundreds of court decisions shaping the law for the Internet.
Need more help?
Unsure about what you're reading here? Visit our Need Help - Ask Us page and connect with one of our librarians who can help you understand.