Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Articles - Introduction
There are a number of ways to find journal and magazine articles. The WINDOW box below and the Music Databases box to the right offer different options. WINDOW searches many databases at once. It is usually the place to begin. But searching individual databases can be useful. It allows you to search databases that are more tightly focused on one subject. Often an individual database offers more options for refining your search than WINDOW does because the latter is searching so many databases at one time. Talk to a librarian if you need help determining how to proceed.
To find journal articles, the place to start is WINDOW.
WINDOW is the single search box on the library's homepage. You can also use the widget below.
WINDOW searches many research databases at once. To learn more about individual databases, see the box to the right.
For help with searching, visit the Search Strategies tab.
Selected Databases in Music:
Oxford Music Online | Grove Music Online
The most comprehensive and authoritative online resource for research into all aspects of music. It includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, (2nd edition). Through a partnership with the music software designer Sibelius, over 500 of Grove's musical examples are now available in sound. The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is also available in print, at ML100.N48 2001 in the Musselman Library Reading Room.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)
International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in over 200 languages. Scholarly journals (500+), books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals are indexed if they are of scholarly interest. Features original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English. Published by Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale, New York. Updated monthly.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Subjects include art, language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, radio, television & film, religion, theatre, and more. With this database, you can do the usual author and topic searches, but then benefit from the cited reference search option. This feature allows the researcher to discover articles that cite a known author or work. Updated weekly.