Unsure about what you're reading here? Visit our Need Help - Ask Us page and connect with one of our librarians who can help you understand.
Golf Digest is a popular magazine for golfers and golf enthusiasts all over the world. You'll be using Golf Digest as a resource for your golf class here at Bluffton University.
GolfDigest.com does offer some of the articles published in Golf Digest the magazine, but you can only read articles back to February 2012.
However, Musselman Library can give you access to the complete text of Golf Digest columns and articles all the way back to July 1, 1993. This guide will tell you everything you need to connect to these articles so you can search or browse.
How can we do this? Musselman Library provides our students, faculty, and staff with access to SPORTDiscus, a searchable collection of more than 550 sports and sports medicine journals and magazines containing the complete text of thousands of articles from these sources, including Golf Digest. SPORTDiscus and other searchable databases like it are not freely available on the web, and not accessible to Google. You can use SPORTDiscus because you're a Bluffton student.
To browse or search issues of Golf Digest using SPORTDiscus, check out the tabs on this guide.
To learn how to properly cite information you learn from Golf Digest, use the citation guide tab.
To search for a Golf Digest article on a particular golf topic:
Use the SPORTDiscus database:
When you arrive in the database, select Advaced Search to see three search box rows.
In the first search box row, enter
JN "Golf Digest"
And in the second search box row, type your topic.
Typing JN "Golf Digest" forces SPORTDiscus to search for your topic ONLY in Golf Digest.
To search all of SPORTDiscus, not just Golf Digest, leave that line out of your search.
If you know you want to look at a particular issue of Golf Digest:
Use the SPORTDiscus database:
When you arrive in the database, click on Advanced Search to show three search box rows.
Click on Publications below the search boxes.
Type golf digest into the search box and click the magnifying glass at the righthand end of the search box.
Click on Golf Digest in the list of results.
Under All issues & articles, you can choose a year and issue from the list at the right side of the screen.
Click on an issue/date link to see a list of columns and articles from that issue.
