Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources Available Online
Listed here are websites with links to Anabaptist/Mennonite primary sources.
Anabaptist Network: Primary Documents
Includes the Schleithem Confession, the Dordrecht Confession of Faith, letters of Conrad Grebel, and more
Complete Works of Menno Simons (from the Internet Archive)
A scanned version with page images of the Funk 1871 translation.
Complete Works of Menno Simons (from the University of Michigan)
1871 translation published in Elkhart by John F. Funk and brother. Provided by the Making of America project at the University of Michigan.
Global Anabaptist Wiki: Online Anabaptist-Mennonite Library
The full text of significant Mennonite confessions of faith and position statements on a variety of issues.
John Howard Yoder Digital Library
From the site: This digital library holds primarily unpublished writings of Mennonite theologian John Howard Yoder. All materials available here are held in the collections of the Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary Library (Elkhart, Indiana), Goshen College's Mennonite Historical Library (Goshen, Indiana), or the Mennonite Church USA Archives (Goshen, Indiana). Other materials in this library include photographs of Yoder, published works by Yoder, and other documents pertaining to Yoder's career.
Martyrs Mirror etchings by Jan Luiken
A reference set of the Jan Luiken etchings in the 1685 edition of the Martyrs Mirror, posted by the MCUSA Archives in North Newton, Kansas.
Martyrs Mirror, 1886 (from the Internet Archive)
A scanned version with page images of the translation of the Martyrs Mirror published in 1886 by the Mennonite Publishing Company in Elkhart, Indiana.
Menno Simons .net
The complete text of the Funk 1871 Complete Works, as well as John Horsch's biography, Menno Simons. His Life, Labors, and Teachings.
Searchable database of obituaries from the Herald of Truth (1864-1908), the Gospel Witness (1905-1908), and the Gospel Herald (1908-1998), The Mennonite (1998- ), and selected obituaries from the Mennonite Weekly Review.
Mennonite Church USA Archives PhotoStream
Photographs from the collections of the Mennonite Church USA Archives, hosted by flickr.
Ploughshares Digital Archive for Peace Studies
Goshen College's contributions to the Ploughshares Digital Archives for Peace project.
The Twelve Articles of the Swabian Peasants
A list of demands articulated by peasants in southwest Germany during the Peasants War.
Need more help?
Unsure about what you're reading here? Visit our Need Help - Ask Us page and connect with one of our librarians who can help you understand.