LibGuides: Primary Sources: Online: Text Sources

Find other options!

Leverage the work of librarians who have created digital user guides like this one for finding primary sources online. Use Google or your favorite search engine to try this search, and explore the results you see:

primary sources libguides

Online: Journals, Magazines, Newspapers

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized page images of historic American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 on advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
American Periodicals Series Online
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
HarpWeek
Electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871.
New York Times
Current and historical access to the New York Times, from today’s paper (including Spanish and Mandarin editions) back to 1851. Unlimited access EXCEPT 1923-1980 restricted to 5 articles per day. NOTE: To register for a free account or for annual renewal of your existing pass, go to: AccessNYT.com, enter Bluffton University, and follow the instructions.
Ohio Memory - Newspapers
The Ohio History Connection provides free access to over 1,000,000 full-text searchable pages of Ohio newspapers through Ohio Memory and the Library of Congress’s Chronicling America.
TimesMachine from The New York Times
Page-image archives of The New York Times, from volume 1, number 1 through 2002. NOTE: To register for a free account or for annual renewal of your existing NY Times pass, go to: AccessNYT.com, enter Bluffton University, and follow the instructions. Bluffton University users must register for a free NYTimes account prior to using TimesMachine.

Online: Manuscripts, Diaries, Letters

Bluffton University Memory
Digitized documents and photographs from Bluffton University's Archives and Special Collections.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Contains photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digital collections of the Library of Congress, accessible online. Includes manuscripts, photographs, audio, video, maps, and more.
Ohio Memory
Ohio Memory is the collaborative statewide digital library program of the Ohio History Connection and the State Library of Ohio. Explore digital content from over 390 cultural heritage institutions representing all 88 Ohio counties.
Ohio Digital Network of DPLA
The Ohio Digital Network is Ohio's service hub for the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA), making digital collections of Ohio libraries, museums, and archives accessible to the world. Access Ohio DPLA collections here.

Diaries in HathiTrust
Search and read the full text of many diaries published as books which have been digitized and posted online at HathiTrust.

Online: Individual Collections

Kent State Shootings - Oral Histories
The Kent State Shootings Oral History Project collects, records, and provides access to oral history accounts pertaining to the May 4, 1970, shootings and their aftermath.
Wright Brothers Digital Photographs
Photographs documenting the invention of the airplane and the lives of the Wright Family.
American Presidency Project This link opens in a new window
From University of California, Santa Barbara: a collection of more than 140,000 US Presidential and non-presidential records, including speeches, executive orders, correspondence, and more.