Skip to main content

Ebooks at Musselman Library: Overview

Overview

Musselman Library offers access to ebooks through a number of vendors and on a variety of platforms. The sections below are organized by ebook vendor and offer information specific to that group of materials. If you have any questions, contact us via the Need Help/Ask Us page.

ABC-CLIO

A collection of several hundred reference titles covering a wide range of topics.

ACLS Humanities Ebook

An online collection of approximately 4,300 books of high quality in the humanities – from the American Council of Learned Societies.

Chadwyck-Healey

American and English Literature from Chadwyck-Healey (now a division of ProQuest). The American & English Literature Collection contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print. It also contains 21 historic editions of the Bible in English.

  • Where to access: 
    • Bluffton Library Catalog
    • OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
  • Platform: OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
  • Saving/downloading: yes, click on Print View.
  • Printing: yes, click on Print View.
  • Simultaneous access: unlimited

EBSCO eBook Collection

From EBSCOhost, this collection includes more than 150,000 ebooks from a broad spectrum of academic subjects.

  • Where to access:

  • Saving/downloading:
    • Pages – when viewing PDF, save limited number of pages, depending on publisher/title.
    • Book – to your folder with free Ebsco account.
    • Book – checkout and download offline (for checkout period).
      • For the latter, will need to download Adobe Digital Editions, create free Adobe ID, and create free Ebsco account.
  • Printing: Pages – when viewing PDF, save then print limited number of pages, depending on publisher/title.

  • Simultaneous access: most books are unlimited; some may have more limited access, for example, one or four concurrent users. Check the detailed record for this information.

  • Capability to underline, annotate, etc.:

    • Create notes with free Ebsco account.

    • If saved pages are emailed to Kindle (and converted to Kindle format), options such as highlighting, notes, bookmarks are available.

Gale

A collection of more than 50 reference titles dating from 2007-2010.

  • Where to access:

  • Saving/downloading:
    • Single article in PDF or HTML.
    • Multiple articles in HTML via the Save and My Folder options (note: folder clears after session ends).
  • Printing:
    • Individual articles in PDF or HTML.
    • Multiple articles in HTML via the Save and My Folder options (note: folder clears after session ends).
  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.
  • Capability to underline, annotate, etc.: Can highlight and add notes. However, these are cleared when a session ends.

Institute of Physics (IOP)

A collection of more than a hundred titles in physics and related subject areas, with publication dates between 2013-2016.

OhioLINK YBP Ebooks

A collection of ebooks, many from the humanities and social sciences. Other titles are included from across the subject spectrum. Publishers include Ashgate, Rowman & Littlefield, and Cambridge University Press.

  • Where to access: Bluffton Library Catalog

  • Platform:
    • Ashgate and Rowman & Littlefield titles will open in the ebrary platform.
    • Cambridge titles will open in the Cambridge platform.
  • Saving/downloading:
    • Ashgate; Rowman & Littlefield:
      • Book – can download (for limited time period) with free ebrary account; will also need. Adobe Digital Editions.
      • Chapter – save as PDF.
      • Add to bookshelf (with free ebrary account).
    • Cambridge:
      • Chapter – save as PDF.
  • Printing:

    • Ashgate; Rowman & Littlefield - print as PDF; number of pages varies.

    • Cambridge: print PDF chapters.

  • Simultaneous access:

    • Ashgate – five copies.

    • Rowman & Littlefield – six copies.

    • Cambridge - unlimited access or 24 concurrent users, depending on title; check with librarian.

  • Capability to underline, annotate, etc.

    • Ashgate; Rowman & Littlefield:

      • Highlight, add notes, bookmarks (with free ebrary account).

Oxford Reference

From Oxford University Press, Oxford Reference provides access to more than 250 reference sources, including encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide array of subjects.

  • Where to access:
  • Printing: individual entries.

  • Saving/downloading: individual entries to a My Work space with free personal account.

  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.

Oxford Scholarship Online

From Oxford University Press, Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to more than 11,000 titles from a wide range of subject areas.

  • Where to access:

  • Printing: individual chapters. Click on print icon, or View PDF.

  • Saving/downloading:

    • Individual chapters to My Work space (free personal account needed).

    • To save individual chapters to computer, click on View PDF.

  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.

Safari Books Online

A collection of titles in computer science, information technology and related fields.

Sage

More than a hundred Sage reference titles published from 2008-2012, including encyclopedias and reference handbooks, primarily in the social sciences.

  • Where to access:

  • Platform: OhioLINK Electronic Book Center.

    • Note: some Sage titles found in the catalog will open in Ebsco. If so, check the Ebsco box on this page for access information.

  • Saving/downloading: yes, click on Print View.

  • Printing: yes, click on Print View.

  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.

Springer

A collection of thousands of scientific, technological, and medical titles.

  • Where to access:

    • Bluffton Library Catalog: many of the Springer ebooks appear in the catalog and link to either SpringerLink or the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center for the fulltext of the ebooks.

    • OhioLINK Electronic Book Center

    • SpringerLink

      • When browsing or searching, uncheck the box at top left: Include Preview-Only content. NOTE: as you browse or search, you may need to uncheck more than once.

  • Saving/downloading:
    • EBC: yes, click on Print View.
    • SpringerLink: yes.
  • Printing:
    • EBC: yes, click on Print View.
    • SpringerLink: yes.
  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.

University Press Scholarship Online

A collection of 530 ebooks with publication dates from 2015-2016. Included are books from the following university presses: University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, MIT Press, and Yale University Press.

Wiley Online Library

A collection of titles from the sciences, social science, and humanities with publication dates from 2012-2014.

  • Where to access:

  • Platform: will open in the Wiley Online Library on the Wiley website.

  • Saving/downloading:
    • Save books and chapters to your profile after setting up a free account.
    • Download by chapter as PDF.
  • Printing: by chapter as PDF.

  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.

Credits

In constructing this guide, a number of other library websites and guides were consulted. The below is not necessarily comprehensive:

  • Muskingum University Library
  • Pontifical College Josephinum Library
  • University of Findlay Library
  • Walsh University Library
  • Wright State University Library

- created by -

Guide created by Paul L. Weaver.