Skip to main content

Anabaptist/Mennonite Research Resources: Article Sources and Research Databases

This guide gives an overview of research resources available to Bluffton University constituents interested in Anabaptist and/or Mennonite research.

Finding Article Sources

Researchers interested in journal, magazine, trade publication, newspaper, and other article-type sources have a number of research options with resources available from Bluffton University and Musselman Library.  We provide access to more than 200 different searchable databases of this type of content.  To help you choose the best option, consider:

1)  Researchers can use WINDOW, our powerful multiple-database search interface, to discover resources from hundreds of different information providers.  Learn more about WINDOW, or try it out using the search box below.

2)  For a more focused search from a theological or philosophical perspective, users can select an individual research database from the list of Religion and Philosophy - focused databases.

3)  Researchers who are looking at Anabaptist/Mennonite culture from other perspectives may wish to choose an individual database from our alphabetical or subject-organized lists.

All of these options are available to registered students, faculty, staff, and on-campus visitors to Bluffton University.  For assistance using any of these resources, please Ask us for help.

You may also find the Radical Reformation Bibliography Project to be a helpful source for discovering Anabaptist research.

Search WINDOW

Search WINDOW
 

What is WINDOW? Learn more here...

Journals of interest for Anabaptist/Mennonite Studies

When searching for articles in WINDOW or in individual research databases, the following journals are of particular interest for researchers interested in Anabaptist/Mennonite studies:

  • American Historical Review
  • Archiv fur Reformationsgeschichte
  • Brethren in Christ History & Life
  • Canadian Journal of History
  • Church History
  • Church History and Religious Culture
  • Conrad Grebel Review
  • Direction
  • Fides et Historia
  • Journal of Ecclesiastical History
  • Journal of Mennonite Studies
  • Mennonite Life
  • Mennonite Quarterly Review
  • Renaissance Quarterly
  • Sixteenth Century Journal

Other online journal sources

Mennonite Life provides access to many of its issues online here.

Digitized Mennonite Periodicals, a guide hosted by Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary, provides access to digitized volumes of The Gospel Herald and The Mennonite.  See also the AMBS Internet Archive site.

Need more help?

Unsure about what you're reading here?  Visit our Need Help - Ask Us page and connect with one of our librarians who can help you understand.

chat loading...