Skip to main content

Exercise Prescription - HFS 265: Articles

A guide to assist students in HFS 265 Personal Training and Exercise with the exercise prescription project.

Use Research Databases to search for Articles

An article is an essay, scientific study, or other text written by one or more authors and usually published in some type of periodically-issued source, like a journal, magazine, trade publication, or newspaper.

A research database is a searchable collection of many types of sources. A database might include journal, magazine, or newspaper articles, book chapters, book reviews, reports, and other types of published information.

These collections might be topic-specific and narrowly-focused, or they may be very broad and comprehensive in the subject matter they include. There is a certain expectation of quality, respectability and accuracy that goes with being included in the research databases that we provide to you at the library's website.

Use our research databases to search for articles which include research supporting the features of your exercise prescription project.

Which database should I use?

Visit the library's homepage and click on Choose a Database, and then select Health, Fitness, and Sport Science from the list of topics.  You'll be shown a list of the databases which contain content filtered specifically for this discipline. 

Or, you can use the custom search tool below to search more than 20 different health, fitness, and sport science databases at once.

Search the library's health, fitness, and sport science databases:

 

Off campus access and Advanced Search options...

Try WINDOW

As a third option, try searching WINDOW, our most powerful search tool. WINDOW includes the Bluffton library catalog and many more of our research databases - searchable from a single search box. Learn more about WINDOW...

Need more help?

Unsure about what you're reading here?  Visit our Need Help - Ask Us page and connect with one of our librarians who can help you understand.

chat loading...