Skip to main content

Citation Guide: MLA Style - Humanities

MLA In-text Citations - Examples

For IN-TEXT CITATIONS, MLA style recommends that writers give the author of a given source and a page number in parentheses when composing an in-text citation.  Usually the author name is given in a signal phrase, but if not, the name and page number are given in parentheses at the end of the quotation.


The basic format for a quotation as described in the MLA Handbook, 8th edition, is: 

O'Connor asks a critical question: "When does Internet surveillance cross the line between corporate responsibility and invasion of privacy?" (16).

 

For additional examples of in-text citations in MLA style, consult Purdue University's OWL page for MLA style.

MLA Works Cited - Examples

The following are selected WORKS CITED entry examples.  For additional examples, consult the MLA Handbook or the Purdue OWL MLA works cited page

Book    

Dormehl, Luke. Thinking Machines: The Quest for Artificial Intelligence and Where It's Taking Us Next. TarcherPerigee, 2017.

Essay from an anthology   

Brown, Kathleen M. "The Anglo-Indian Gender Frontier." Women's America: Refocusing the Past,  edited by Linda K. Kerber, et.al., Oxford UP, 2016, pp. 12-23.

Article from a print journal    

Noy, Chaim. "Participatory Media New and Old: Semiotics and Affordances of Museum Media." Critical Studies in Media Communication, vol. 33, no. 4, October 2016, pp. 308-323.

Article from a magazine    

Hankinson, Andrew. "Table Talk." The New Yorker, 28 Aug. 2017, p. 33.

Article from a newspaper   

Schonbrun, Zach. "Savvy Consumers May Be More Trusting of Ads Than Marketers Expect." New York Times, 31 July 2017, p. B3.

Article from an encyclopedia    

Brafman, Sarah. "Bonwit Teller." The Encyclopedia of New York City, edited by Kenneth T. Jackson, Yale UP, 2010, p. 142.

Article from a website

Bender, Harold S. "Saur, Christopher (1693-1758)." Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online, 1959, http://gameo.org/index.php?title=Saur,_Christopher_(1693-1758)&oldid=93465.  Accessed 4 Sept. 2017.

Entire website    

Ohio Memory.  Ohio History Connection and The State Library of Ohio, 2015, http://www.ohiomemory.org/.

Caskey, Micky M., and Paul Gregorio. The Civil War Through a Child's Eye. Library of Congress, 2002?, http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/lessons/childs-eye/index.html.

 

Article from an online database - General citation format    

Author. "Title of the Article." Title of the Journal, Volume, Issue, Date, PageRange. Name of Database, Permalink URL or DOI.  Optional date of access.

Article from Academic Search Complete database   

Emerson, Eva. "The Surprising Health Benefits of Coffee." Science News, vol. 188, no. 7, 03 Oct. 2015, p. 2. Academic Search Complete, bl.opal-libraries.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=109520393&site=ehost-live. Accessed 4 Sept. 2017.

Article from OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center database   

Jang, Y.J., et al. "Decaffeinated coffee prevents scopolamine-induced memory impairment in rats." Behavioural Brain Research, vol. 245, 2013, pp. 113-119. OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center, doi:10.1016/J.BBR.2013.02.003.

Article from Literature Resource Center database    

"(Mary) Flannery O'Connor." Contemporary Authors Online, Gale, 2004. Literature Resource Center, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=LitRC&sw=w&u=bluf34622&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CH1000074094&asid=2d0d9cff397a409fecbdbb2af32769a7. Accessed 4 Sept. 2017.

Introduction

These examples are derived from citation formats published in the MLA Handbook, 8th Edition.

Need more help?

Unsure about what you're reading here?  Visit our Need Help - Ask Us page and connect with one of our librarians who can help you understand.

chat loading...