Skip to main content

Web Searching Center: Search Engines, Guides, & Directories

A guide for interacting with the World Wide Web, including searching, evaluating, and citing websites as research resources.

Search the World Wide Web like a pro with these sites

Google Advanced Search

Google's own cheat sheet

Google Scholar - Advanced Search screen
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Google Scholar is often considered a good companion research tool to library databases.

For information helpful to Bluffton users, see OhioLINK's news article, Using Google Scholar? Look for OLinks!

Best Search Tools Chart
Comparison chart for selected search engines, meta-search engine, and subject directories.

How to Choose a Search Engine or Directory
The Internet Tutorials site offers options based on how you want to search, what you want to search for, and more.

Subject Guides and Directories

Digital Librarian: a librarian's choice of the best of the Web
Alphabetical listing of links to scholarly and popular resources in 90+ topic areas, with brief annotations..

Great Websites for Kids
Directory of annotated links from the American Library Association, with categories that include Animals, The Arts, History & Biography, Literature & Language, Mathematics & Computers, Sciences, and Social Sciences. Offers search by intended audience (pre-K, elementary, middle school, parents/teachers/caregivers).

Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
Built by librarians, Infomine features "well organized access to important university level research and educational tools on the Internet." Collections include Business and Economics, Cultural Diversity, Visual & Performing Arts, E-Journals – and more.

Internet Public Library
Award winning "library" with access to Subject Collections, Ready Reference, Reading Room, Kidspace, Teenspace, and Special Collections. Begun in 1995 at the School of Information and Library Studies at the University of Michigan, IPL is now supported by a consortium of colleges and universities.

Internet Resources wiki
Resource guides published College & Research Libraries News, published online in wiki format.

Internet Scout Archives
Searchable and browseable database for the weekly Scout Report and subject-specific Scout Reports, with critical annotations of carefully selected Internet sites and mailing lists.

Voice of the Shuttle
Provides access to scholarly websites for research in the humanities. The site offers browsing by subject area categories or search by topic.

WWW Virtual Library
Described as the oldest catalog of the web, started in 1991 by the creator of the Web, Tim Berners-Lee. The WWW Virtual Library is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who provide collections of links in areas of expertise.

 

Librarian Info

Need more help?

Unsure about what you're reading here?  Visit our Need Help - Ask Us page and connect with one of our librarians who can help you understand.

chat loading...